Skip to content

Arrive, Survive and Thrive in Prof. Nixon’s FYE 1220 Class

May 8, 2010

An Open Note to All of Prof. Nixon’s Students at Georgia Southern University:

We’re almost off and running in our Summer Semester classes at GSU. This semester, I’m teaching three courses, and they are all taught online.
So that we can make the most of this semester, please (Please, PLEASE) take some time to read through the blog posts I’ve included here. I promise you, it will be well worth your time. (How often do professors let you get inside their heads, letting you know their tips for success and their pet peeves?)

Additionally, here are a few more tips:

  • When communicating with me via e-mail (or Facebook), always put your course number (such as FYE 1220) in the subject line to help me immediately identify who you are and frame your questions or comments. Do your best to write in full sentences, paying attention to standard English grammar and spelling. Always sign your e-mails with your first and last name, as your GSU e-mail address will not make that readily apparent to me.
  • When submiting an assignment in GeorgiaVIEW, always put your last name as part of the file name, and also include your name in the document itself. Papers submitted without your last name as part of the file name cannot earn full credit.
  • If an assignment is due in GeorgiaVIEW, the only way to get full credit for the assignment is to submit it in GeorgiaVIEW. (E-mailing an assignment to me can be risky; I receive 250+ e-mails a day, and there’s a chance I will not even see it in my inbox.)
  • Follow me on Twitter, if you really want to get inside my head. (What’s Twitter?)

Let’s make this a great semester together! (PS: If you’re one of my FYE 1220 students reading this post, please leave a reply to this post so that I can know you have read it. If your reply doesn’t show up immediately, no worries — I may need to approve it before it appears, if you’ve never commented on my blog before.)

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Matt Vickery permalink
    May 17, 2010 12:04 pm

    I’ve read your blog and am excited to explore a new way of learning this semester. I look forward to your class and learning more about what the internet has to offer.

  2. Joshua Ritter permalink
    May 17, 2010 2:07 pm

    I have read your post and plan on enjoying myself in this course. I can have the chance to learn more about social networking and how it will help me in my professional career.

  3. Katie Jessica Best permalink
    May 17, 2010 2:25 pm

    I have read your blog and am looking foward to a great semester.

  4. Patience Gary permalink
    May 17, 2010 11:42 pm

    ive read this post!

  5. Matthew permalink
    May 18, 2010 5:44 pm

    I have just read this blog post. I’m excited to start the class!

  6. Charlene Townsend permalink
    May 18, 2010 5:59 pm

    I have just read your blog, looking forward into a great summer! Have a Bless Day!

  7. Kayla Bennett permalink
    May 19, 2010 12:50 pm

    I have read your blog and am excited to have your class! It seems like it will be very informative.

  8. Alex LaSalle permalink
    May 19, 2010 5:25 pm

    This blog has been read by me. Can’t wait for class!

  9. May 19, 2010 5:44 pm

    hey, i’ve read it 🙂

    • May 19, 2010 5:45 pm

      (it didnt post my name, idk if u needed it on here to show up)
      so fyi Merry Jamieson

  10. Tony Jacobs permalink
    May 20, 2010 12:14 pm

    I have read your blog and look forward to this semester.

  11. Megan Hattaway permalink
    May 21, 2010 10:33 am

    Hey! I’ve read the post, and I’m looking forward to learning more about new social communication tools.

  12. 1liz2blog permalink
    May 21, 2010 4:25 pm

    read it 🙂

Leave a Reply

