Skip to content

Blog Assignment for FYE 1220

May 8, 2010

Blog posts can be written informally; that is, they don’t need to sound like a term paper. However, there’s still an expectation for proper grammar, spelling and capitalization. If you have questions about how informal is “too informal,” please let me know.
Blog Post #1
Respond to my post (at my blog)
Deadline: September 3
Blog Post #2
Set up your own blog at WordPress
Create an About Me page
Deadline: September 15, before class
Blog Post #3
48 Hours of Twitter Assignment (see details)
250 words minimum
Deadline: September 17, before class
Blog Post #4
Your reaction to one of the Success Series seminars
250 words minimum
Deadline: October 1, before class
Blog Post #5
Blog review (review two or more blogs that are of interest to you)
Include hyperlinks to the blogs
Add at least one tag to the post
250 words minimum
Deadline: October 15, before class
Blog Post #6
Podcast review (listen to at least one hour of podcasts that are of interest to you)
Include hyperlinks to the show notes of the podcasts
Add at least one tag to the post
250 words minimum
Deadline: October 29, before class
Blog Post #7
Your reaction/response to the ropes course (use these guidelines)
Include at least one photo (from our Flickr photo set)
Add at least one tag to the post
250 words minimum
Deadline: November 21, by 5:00
Blog Post #8
Create Your Own Social Media Policy (details coming soon)
Add at least one tag to the post
Deadline: December 3, before class

As the major theme of our FYE 1220 course has to do with making connections with others around us, we will all be blogging this semester to help make and enhance our connections with each other.

Blog posts can be written informally; that is, they don’t need to sound like a term paper. However, there’s still an expectation for proper grammar, spelling and capitalization. If you have questions about how informal is “too informal,” please let me know. Be sure to see 10 Blogging Tips That Will Save Your Life (or Your Grade, At Least) before writing any blog posts.

In addition to writing your own posts, you will also comment on at least three peers’ blog posts (for blog posts 3-7). We’ll discuss ways to encourage conversation through comments before the end of the first month of class.

Blog Post #1 :: A blog comment

  • Respond to my post about your experiences and impressions of your first week at Georgia Southern (here at our class blog)
  • Deadline: May 21

Blog Post #2 :: Blog Set-Up

  • Set up your own blog at WordPress
  • Delete the default “Hello World” post
  • Create an About Me page for your blog
  • Create a Gravatar (Globally Recognized Avatar)
  • ALSO: Make sure your (name and link to your blog) appear on the FYE 1220 Blogroll (in the sidebar of this blog). If not, contact me. (If I don’t know where your blog is, I cannot read it.) Let me know your blog address by completing this Google Form.
  • Deadline: May 28

Blog Post #3 :: Blog Review

  • Blog review (review two or more blogs that are of interest to you). See how to find blogs using Google. NOTE: You will review blogs written by people outside of this class, not blogs of your classmates.
  • Include hyperlinks to the blogs
  • Add at least one tag to the post
  • 250 words minimum
  • Deadline: June 11

Blog Post #4 :: Twitter

Blog Post #5 :: Podcast Review

  • Podcast review (listen to at least one hour of podcasts that are of interest to you)
  • Include hyperlinks to the show notes of the podcasts
  • Add at least one tag to the post
  • 250 words minimum
  • Deadline: July 2

Blog Post #6 :: Digital Dirt

  • Based on your online research, interviews with peers & professors, and/or personal experience, what advice would you offer to a peer who may be posting inappropriate information online?
  • Include hyperlinks to any online sites you refer to
  • Add at least one tag to the post
  • 250 words minimum
  • Deadline: July 2

Blog Post #7 :: Campus Event Reaction

  • Your reaction to one of the GSU Summer 2010 campus events
  • Add at least one tag to the post
  • 250 words minimum
  • Deadline: July 10

Blog Post #8 :: Social Media Policy

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie Jessica Best permalink
    May 19, 2010 1:16 pm

    My first week at GSU was Summer Semester 2009. I had recently graduated from East Georgia College in Swainsboro, and was excited to start my journey at GSU. I quickly learned if you don’t park in the correct parking lot, you will get a ticket! At East Georgia you could park anywhere, but I quickly found out that was not the case at GSU. Needless to say, I accumulated quiet a few tickets my first semester. My first class was in the Math/Physics building, which most of you know is very confusing. I spent 30 minutes trying to find my class and felt like a complete idiot when I finally found it. I enjoyed my class and was surprised by how friendly the other students in my class were. Like me, they were all education majors and excited to start making their way towards graduation. I enjoyed my first week at GSU and am looking forward to enjoying my senior year. I hope to learn more about blogging and twitter from this class.

  2. Matt Vickery permalink
    May 19, 2010 1:23 pm

    Matt Vickery
    mv00630@georgiasouthern.edu

    My first official week as a new (transfer) student to Georgia Southern is almost over. I wish I could say I actually got a glimpse of life as an average college student; however living an hour away from campus, being enrolled in all online courses, continuing to work full time, and being a full time dad leaves little room for that. No complaints though, I’m just relieved to be back in the mix of it all. My education has been put on the back burner for too long- and now it’s my time to get it finished.

    I did learn a lot on Saturday. As long (and sometimes boring) as it was, I can honestly say that no incoming student will leave SOAR with unanswered questions. But beyond learning the locations of buildings, where to eat, and the names of professors and advisors “that I should know”, I learned that the people at GSU are different than those I’ve encountered at other universities. The faculty/staff seem truly interested in their students’ success. I even had a conversation with a member of the janitorial staff in the bathroom- who wished me luck on my first semester. This realization came as a surprise to me, considering how difficult it has been in the past to get a member of faculty to even respond to an email. I was also surprised to discover how many resources were available to students on campus; from printing, to shopping, to tutoring sessions, everything you could possibly need is at your fingertips. I’ve attended other colleges, but have never seen a support system quite like the one here at GSU.

    I know this semester is going to be tough. Taking online classes for the first time requires an immense amount of patience, but I can honestly say I’m ready to learn more. I’ve never considered myself “computer savvy” but I think this course will prove just how much the internet has to offer. I look forward to learning more about communications (via blogging, twitter, etc.) and using it to my advantage in life ahead. I’m interested in learning how it all works, as well as getting insight from other students who are learning with me. I’m beginning this course with an open mind, and am eager to give it my all.

  3. Tony Jacobs permalink
    May 20, 2010 11:51 pm

    My first week attending classes at Georgia Southern has been very challenging thus far. I enrolled here at Southern as a transfer student. I live in Savannah, GA which is approximately 50 minutes to away. I work full time as a payroll manager for a local medical facility. Summer 2010 quarter I am taking 3 online classes FYE, BUSA 1105, and CISM 2530. I have taken online classes before, however the user interface of Georgia View will take some time for me to become comfortable using. I did not attend any classes for spring 2010; therefore I was spoiled with the extra time to do fun activities. I think that the time I utilized for homework and reading assignments this week have put me back into the swing of things. I learned that Southern was the perfect choice of college to attend for me. The faculty and staff are professional and organized. I attended Soar on 5/15/2010, I was very pleased. The SOAR staff was unbelievable helpful in explaining the different procedures whether it was registering for classes or how to obtain financial aid. The staff also offered tours of the entire campus, which was very helpful. The faculty and staff at Southern seem to care about their students success. I have never participated in such a well organized student orientation (I’ve been to a few). My professors have communicated very well with me, and all three have well detailed class work schedules. I was really surprised that a university of this size can be so well rounded. I really feel like that I am enrolled in a small community college rather than a university with over 19,000 students. I want to learn more about the Southern history, the different student activities and I can’t wait to take classes on campus in fall of 2010. I hope I did not bore you; I look forward to blog more with you guys!

  4. Charlene Townsend permalink
    May 21, 2010 10:29 am

    Email: ct01455@georgiasouthern.edu
    Even though my first week of school was last summer, it has been a challenge in trying to stay ahead and focus with all of my family having a lot of medical issues. The challenges has been over bearing but I know it will pay off in the end. Returning to college after twenty seven years is challenging and a frightening experience but the benefits out weigh those hardships. Receiving my college degree I can pursue the job that I am truly interested in. My decision to return to college has increased and strength my family bonds and help me increase my self confidence. Because I’m going to complete something I’ve started and wanted to accomplish for awhile. Everyone that I have encountered on campus has been very helpful and encouraging through my academic process.

    This will be my first time actually enrolled in an online class. Since I’m a commuter from Pooler,Ga I thought this online class will be less stressful in driving and making to class on time. Actually I don’t have any knowledge of (twitter, blogging, etc). So this is class is very exciting and interesting to me. The only thing I will probably miss about not being on campus this summer is the scenery of the campus and meeting different people on a daily basis that are there to help you with any problem or concerns that you might have. I looking forward in a successful summer learning different aspect of the internet social connection with others.

Trackbacks

  1. Public Relations Matters » Blog Archive » 10 FAQs About Prof. Nixon’s Summer 2010 Online Courses
  2. Keeping Organized by Using Google Calendar « Making Connections
  3. How to Find Blogs Using Google « Making Connections
  4. Podcasts 101 :: #FYE1220 « Making Connections
  5. Watch Out for Digital Dirt « Making Connections

Leave a Reply

