Skip to content

One Week Down . . .

May 8, 2010

For Prof. Nixon’s FYE 1220 Class:

As of May 21, you will have completed your first full week at Georgia Southern University. Take a few moments now and reflect on the following three questions:

  • What did you learn?
  • What surprised you?
  • What do you now want to know more about?

In the Leave a Reply area, fill out the short demographic form (name, e-mail, etc.), and respond with at least one item in each of the three categories. In other words, let me know at least one thing you learned, one thing that surprised you, and one thing you want to know more about. Your answers can focus on college in general or on this Making Connections: Facebook & Beyond course.

Note: This reply/comment/assignment counts as “Blog Post #1”

Questions?

barbara_is_listening

Photo Credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/jjay/112404324/

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Joshua Ritter permalink
    May 21, 2010 12:35 pm

    Georgia Southern has a beautiful campus along with an amazing library. The student social network is great because they try to get you out on campus to meet other students and build relationships. The bus system still needs some work on pick-up and drop-off locations.

  2. May 21, 2010 12:40 pm

    Even though, it has been almost two years since my first week at Southern I still vaguely remember my first week. I still remember that there was a ridiculous amount of students waiting to get on the bus from Southern Courtyard and that it was extremely hot on the bus! I remember first walking into COBA trying to find my class room and then realizing that my next class was on the complete other side of campus! I learned about the SAP certification during my first week of class and how “important” it was for Management majors to have it. I also learned that it is quicker to walk to class than trying to catch the bus. I was surprised by the friendly atmosphere. I made new friends during my first class! I really don’t want to know anything else about Georgia Southern, as a senior I believe I know enough. At this point in my college career I’m only focused on graduating!

  3. May 21, 2010 12:44 pm

    Actually, I started at GSU last semester in the Learning Support Center, taking Math 97. I am 55-years old, which certainly qualifies me as a non-traditional, mature student. The Compass Placement test showed I needed Math 97 and Math 99 before being admitted into the Technology Options Program to study for a Mechanical Engineering degree under the GTREP program (if successful, I will graduate from GT in Atlanta, without ever attending classes anywhere except GSU and the GT Savannah campus).

    I was surprised how little I remembered from my high school, and Dekalb Technical College algebra and calculus classes. While I am confident that I could have self-studied enough to do better on the placement exam, and probably would have qualified to go directly into my program of study, I am very glad I took the Math 97 class in the spring.

    Now I am looking forward to beginning the Math 99 class this semester, beginning June 10. In the fall I will retire from my 33-year career in the nuclear power industry and will become a full-time student at GSU. After 2 years as a GSU student, assuming my GPA is 3.0 or better, I will transfer to GT for the last 2 years and earn a BME degree.

    My wife is already a GT graduate with a BME and PE License, with 20 years experience. We hope to have the opportunity to work together, possibly in France, or at least to travel and spend time in Europe.

    I have been a webmaster for The Sweet Onion Cyclists and have enjoyed designing and updating our website at http://www.letsride.net. I think this FYE class will help me expand my presence on the web.

  4. Elizabeth Vinson permalink
    May 21, 2010 1:11 pm

    I’ve attended Georgia Southern for about two years now, but this is my first Summer semester. I avoided it before because I commute from Savannah. In the past my schedules were normally the Tuesday/Thursday routine. As I progressed through my studies I realized that I needed to pick up classes whenever available, especially if I want to graduate faster.

    This first week of Summer classes I learned that driving to Statesboro Monday through Friday isn’t that bad. Also I am exposed to the class more, which keeps the material fresh in my mind. I’m not saying I would want to do this all the time, I just realized it wasn’t as daunting as I thought it would be.

    When I drove to the stadium to park and ride the bus to campus I was surprised there was a large group of people waiting to get on the bus. I thought it would be easy to get a seat on the bus and even have empty seats. But like the Fall and Spring semesters there were times when it seemed almost impossible to get onto the bus due to crowds.

    One of the classes I’m taking this semester is Introduction to Philosophy. The subject didn’t appeal to me much because I assumed it involved ridiculous people who used sophisticated words, but really said nothing worthwhile. Fortunately, my professor is interesting and seems to be a humble man. He described Philosophy as “the love of wisdom” or “the search for truth.” I decided to put my biases aside and to learn more about what true Philosophy is. I may have crossed paths with a pseudo-philosopher, but others may have met poor writers (I am a writer) as well. I want to learn more about philosophy and find ideas from philosophers that intrigue me.

    • Megan Hattaway permalink
      May 21, 2010 4:23 pm

      I’ve actually never rode the bus. I’ve always been too afraid that I’d get on the wrong one. I’ve also heard how long they take to get places.

  5. Tony Jacobs permalink
    May 21, 2010 1:24 pm

    My first week attending classes at Georgia Southern has been very challenging thus far. I enrolled here at Southern as a transfer student. I live in Savannah, GA which is approximately 50 minutes to away. I work full time as a payroll manager for a local medical facility. Summer 2010 quarter I am taking 3 online classes FYE, BUSA 1105, and CISM 2530. I have taken online classes before, however the user interface of Georgia View will take some time for me to become comfortable using. I did not attend any classes for spring 2010; therefore I was spoiled with the extra time to do fun activities. I think that the time I utilized for homework and reading assignments this week have put me back into the swing of things. I learned that Southern was the perfect choice of college to attend for me. The faculty and staff are professional and organized. I attended Soar on 5/15/2010, I was very pleased. The SOAR staff was unbelievable helpful in explaining the different procedures whether it was registering for classes or how to obtain financial aid. The staff also offered tours of the entire campus, which was very helpful. The faculty and staff at Southern seem to care about their students success. I have never participated in such a well organized student orientation (I’ve been to a few). My professors have communicated very well with me, and all three have well detailed class work schedules. I was really surprised that a university of this size can be so well rounded. I really feel like that I am enrolled in a small community college rather than a university with over 19,000 students. I want to learn more about the Southern history, the different student activities and I can’t wait to take classes on campus in fall of 2010. I hope I did not bore you; I look forward to blog more with you guys!

  6. Katie Jessica Best permalink
    May 21, 2010 2:36 pm

    My first week at GSU was Summer Semester 2009. I had recently graduated from East Georgia College in Swainsboro, and was excited to start my journey at GSU. I quickly learned if you don’t park in the correct parking lot, you will get a ticket! At East Georgia you could park anywhere, but I quickly found out that was not the case at GSU. Needless to say, I accumulated quiet a few tickets my first semester. My first class was in the Math/Physics building, which most of you know is very confusing. I spent 30 minutes trying to find my class and felt like a complete idiot when I finally found it. I enjoyed my class and was surprised by how friendly the other students in my class were. Like me, they were all education majors and excited to start making their way towards graduation. I enjoyed my first week at GSU and am looking forward to enjoying my senior year. I hope to learn more about blogging and twitter from this class.

    • Megan Hattaway permalink
      May 21, 2010 4:22 pm

      I totally know what you mean about the math and physics building. I actually had the same experience. I went to find my classes the day before they started, but on the first day, I went into the building a different way. Who knew you could walk in on the second floor? I was so lost. I even asked people, and I told them the wrong room number on accident!

  7. May 21, 2010 4:06 pm

    My first week at Georgia Southern was actually last August. The first week was very hectic because I did not know my way around campus at all. The weekend before classes started I went to Tybee Island instead of finding where all my classes were. The first Monday I had 4 classes. One at 8 AM, One at 10, One at 1, and One at 3:30. Tuesday I only had 1 class. Wednesday was the same as Monday. Thursday I had 2 classes. And Friday I had 2. After the first week I found all the short cuts to class and realized that I was going to love it at Georgia Southern!!

  8. Megan Hattaway permalink
    May 21, 2010 4:13 pm

    Luckily, this was not my first week at Georgia Southern. I remember that week. I got lost several times, and I was late for class because I couldn’t find the room! This week has gone much smoother than my first week here. It is, however, my first summer here. I’ve learned that assignments are constantly thrown at me. I also learned that the weather here is ten times more humid than where I’m from, which my hair doesn’t like very much. One of the key things I’ve learned so far is that the walk from the education building to Hollis is much longer than you’d think!

    I started at Georgia Southern last fall. After attending both the fall and spring sessions, I learned how many people really attend the university. I was very surprised to see so many people at the summer session as well. Back home, most people don’t take summer classes. I was also surprised at how clean and quiet our apartment is with two of my roommates since two of my roommates went home for the summer!

    As of now, I want to learn more about social communications. I’m an education major, and it would be great to learn ways to use the internet to stay connected to my students’ parents. It’d be neat to create a class website with pictures, events, homework assignments, and etc.

  9. Patience Gary permalink
    May 21, 2010 5:35 pm

    Well my first week at GSU was a while ago being that im a senior so its hard to remember what exactly that week was like. I do remember the day before classes walking the campus to try to find my classes so that i wouldn’t be lost. What i did learn was the it was a lot harder to get to class in when you only have 15 mins and your class is clear across campus. My first week was rocky trying to get used to walking to class in that heat. One thing that did suprise me about statesboro the first week was that there was no city buses or taxi’s. Since i am a senior the only thing that i really want to know more about is graduation!

  10. Mallory Clark permalink
    May 21, 2010 10:27 pm

    My first week at Southern was last fall, but it feels like it was yesterday! During my first week I learned a lot about where everything was around campus, And how to get to my classes on time!The one thing that surprised me about Southern was how big that campus is and how big my classes are. I loved my first week of Southern! The one thing that I would love to still learn while I am at Southern is better time management. So far I love southern and I am excited for the next three years!

  11. Kara Kollars permalink
    May 26, 2010 5:01 pm

    Oh my goodness, I know this is past the due date, but I thought I’d give my two cents anyway. This is actually my only class during the A term at GSU (which makes this late reply pretty embarrassing). This is my first online class and it is going to take a moment to get used to keeping track of things myself (e.g. due dates). It should be very interesting to see how I fare, but I’m sure it will work out fine. I have had some “events” occurring in my life recently, but it looks like I’m getting into the swing of things already. I also wanted to say that I work from 8am-4pm and that seems to be prime class time, so unfortunately it looks like I won’t be making it to many live online class meetings.

    I have been a student at GSU for a little over 2 years and love it. I am going at a remarkably slow pace though for a 21 year old. I’ve got a great job for a medical company out of Savannah, GA, so that keeps a lot of my time. Although I have not picked up the virtue of patience yet, I know working hard at both will pay off in the long run. I don’t get paid awful either… so that helps!

  12. May 26, 2010 9:05 pm

    well, i completed my first week at southern 2 years ago
    was there a year, switched a yr, now am back, kinda
    i will be back on campus in the fall.

    first week: very excited, on top of everything, went exploring buildings so i would know where my classes were, had a map on hand at all times, had my schedule all printed up and pretty

    this is my only class this semester. so my this first week is only online

    •What did you learn?
    my first summer semester week
    re-learned im really easily distracted/add, jump from one new set of things to another. learning (present tense) about blogging

    •What surprised you?
    lack of ability to find yall on fcbk, my eagerness to complete tasks for class, how jumpy this little thing im typing into is/scrolling around – distracting me – erg,

    •What do you now want to know more about?
    are we only blogging to our classmates? or are we talking to the public at large?

    um, im looking forwards to my second/third first week, in the fall. im excited to be going back to comfort zone, but have expectations for my year to be different than my previous one down there. expecting to use my available resources better, cuz i realize that i miss not having them this last year.

    merry jamieson
    mj00916@georgiasouthern.edu
    merryj@bellsouth.net

    (evidently i posted too early, so here it is again now)

  13. Betty Kemp permalink
    May 31, 2010 11:19 am

    So after being out of school for quite a number of years, I’ve officially completed my first two full weeks of class and the most important thing I’ve learned is also what surprised me the most. I am way behind in the new advances in technology and social media.

    Learning how to navigate the online student portal, setting up a blog, and reading about all the different types of social media has been a big challenge but, luckily, I feel I may be getting the hang of it. There’s still so much more I have to learn, but I’m hoping this class will provide the guidance and steps to get me started.

  14. May 31, 2010 4:09 pm

    My name is Taius Reitz, and I’m a 19-year old student at Georgia Southern. This past Spring was my first semester in college. I learned that my first class of the week was on the complete opposite side of campus, at 8AM in the morning. I was unpleasantly surprised to learn that my mattress at Eagle Village one of the most uncomfortable I have ever slept on, and that the sun started shining through the window and into my eyes as soon as it started rising.

    Another thing I learned is that the dining hall buffet was both cheap, and surprisingly good. I expected a school dining hall to serve toxic waste and routinely fail health department inspections. While I have no idea what their sanitary qualifications are, their food is quite tasty for something that spends a good deal of the afternoon over a heat lamp.

    I look forward to learning how to make and manage a blog through this class that I’m taking to improve my GPA, because it’s required and because, as I just, I would like to learn how to blog. People have told me for quite some time that I should start one, although these same people also told me that I should buy a Vespa to ride around school on. I would rather be tied up and dragged around campus by angry buffalo.

    Speaking of the Campus, I was surprised how much more I enjoy walking around it when I’m not being dragged around on that uselessly long orientation tour. I feel bad for the people who led me on it, because I really wasn’t listening too hard, and I didn’t remember where most of the stuff was. Probably because it started at 8AM and my tour guide was about as thrilled to be there as I was.

    Anyways, I would like to learn more about blogging, and also about some of these other social media things everybody always rambles about. Like Twitter. I don’t really get what Twitter is and why people would post such random things on it. Almost like there isn’t enough on a post to have a coherent thought.

Trackbacks

  1. Blog Assignment for FYE 1220 « Making Connections

Leave a Reply

